بحاجة الى مساعدة الآن؟
إذا كان عمرك يتراوح بين 12 و 30 عامًا
وتحتاج إلى مساعدة ، انقر هنا .
تبرع
أخبار

أكبر التحديات التي يواجهها شبابنا اليوم

لا تعليقات شارك:

إسقاط في 4


ظهر مديرنا التنفيذي ، مارك ريدموند ، مؤخرًا في محادثة فيرمونت في فيرمونت في WDEV مع ديفيد جودمان جنبًا إلى جنب مع دنكان ماكدوغال ، مؤسس ومدير مؤسسة محو الأمية للأطفال (CLiF).

يتحدث مارك عن أكبر التحديات التي يواجهها الشباب في ولاية فيرمونت اليوم: استخدام المواد الأفيونية ونقص الإسكان الميسور التكلفة.

هذا مقتطف:

ديفيد جودمان: ما الذي تغير يا مارك؟ لديك حقًا نظرة سريعة على بعض المشكلات التي تواجه الأطفال ، خاصة أننا نسمع الكثير عن أزمة المواد الأفيونية. ماذا ترى؟ هل هذا شيء أكثر انتشارًا الآن من حيث التحديات التي يواجهها الأطفال؟

مارك ريدموند: لقد أضرت [المشكلة] الأفيونية بكل نظام في ولاية فيرمونت ... لقد أثرت علينا جميعًا بطرق سلبية عديدة. إلى جانب الأطفال الذين يعيشون معنا ، نقوم بمعالجة العيادات الخارجية للأدوية لنحو 400 طفل سنويًا ، لذلك رأينا بالتأكيد المزيد من الأطفال الذين يعانون من صعوبات في تناول المواد الأفيونية.

وأعتقد أن الشيء الآخر هو أن بيرلينجتون نفسها أصبحت باهظة الثمن. هناك نقص في المساكن ذات الأسعار المعقولة. لذا حتى الشباب الذين فعلوا كل ما طلبناه ، لقد نجحوا في كل جانب ، لديهم عمل ، يذهبون إلى المدرسة ، إنهم يوفرون المال ، ثم يحصلون على قسيمة القسم 8 وهم تجد الآن صعوبة حتى في العثور على سكن. يتعين عليهم استخدام القسيمة الخاصة بهم داخل دائرة نصف قطرها ستة أميال من بيرلينجتون. هناك نقص كبير في المساكن ذات الأسعار المعقولة ، لذا أود أن أقول إن هذا تغير لجعل الأمر أكثر صعوبة على أطفالنا الذين نجحوا.

للاستماع إلى المحادثة بأكملها ، استمع على موقع Vermont Conversation الإلكتروني .

اترك تعليق

Your email address will not be published.

Need Help Now?
If you are between the ages of 12-30
and need help, click here.
Donate
Blog

The biggest challenges our youth face today

No Comments Share:

Drop-In 4


Our Executive Director, Mark Redmond, recently appeared on WDEV‘s Vermont Conversation with David Goodman alongside Duncan McDougall, founder and director of the Children’s Literacy Foundation (CLiF).

Mark talks about the biggest challenges that youth face in Vermont today: opiate use and the lack of affordable housing.

Here’s an excerpt:

David Goodman: What is changing, Mark? You have really a front-line view of some of the issues facing kids, particularly we’re hearing a lot about the opiate crisis. What are you seeing? Is this something that is now more prevalent in terms of the challenges that kids face?

Mark Redmond: The opiate [problem] has hurt every system in Vermont … it’s affected all of us in so many negative ways. Besides the kids that live with us, we do outpatient drug treatment for about 400 kids a year, so we’ve definitely seen more kids with opiate difficulties.

And I think the other thing is, Burlington itself has gotten so expensive. There’s such a lack of affordable housing. So even young people who’ve done everything we’ve asked, they’ve succeeded on every front, they have work, they’re going to school, they’re saving money, they then get a Section 8 voucher and they’re now finding it hard to even find housing. They have to use their voucher within a six-mile radius of Burlington. There’s such a lack of affordable housing, so I would say that’s changed to make it even more difficult for our kids who have succeeded.

To hear the whole conversation, listen on the Vermont Conversation website.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *