هل تحتاج إلى مساعدة الآن؟
If you are between the ages of 12-30
and need help, انقر هنا.
تبرع
أخبار

"لم أرغب في البقاء في تلك الدورة."

لا تعليقات شارك:

DSC_3436


اعتاد جوش أن يكون في برنامج JOBS الخاص بنا. لقد تحدث في حفل الاستقبال الأخير للامتنان عن حياته وخبراته ، ولماذا ساعده دعمك على البقاء على المسار الصحيح لمتابعة أحلامه. ها هي قصة جوش:

كان عمري حوالي 15 عامًا عندما غادرت منزل والديّ. واستغرق الأمر حتى بلغت 17 عامًا تقريبًا في المدرسة الثانوية لأدرك ذلك حقًا.

في هذه المرحلة ، كان عليهم التحدث إلى DCF ، وكان أحدهم يعرف بول هايز ، الذي كان طبيبًا في برنامج JOBS ، وقد ساعدني Paul حقًا في القيام بأشياء مثل العثور على وظيفة وتطوير المهارات الحياتية حتى تمكنت من الحصول على شقة و لا أصبح بلا مأوى ، لأنني كنت أمارس رياضة الأريكة قبل ذلك.

لقد جئت من خط طويل من الفقر والمخدرات. والدي الآن في السجن - ليس [السجن الذي أعمل فيه] - ولكن في السجن. إخواني في السجن. لذلك أشعر بأنني محظوظ جدًا لأنني قابلت ذلك الرجل هناك.

منذ ذلك الحين ، تمكنت من الالتحاق بالجامعة. حصلت على شهادة في التمريض. لقد كانت ناجحة جدًا. انا متزوج. لدي طفل في الطريق وطفل عمره تسع سنوات [ تصفيق ].

لست متأكدًا من أنني كنت سأتمكن من القيام بذلك بدون برنامج JOBS. كنت متحمسًا ، لم أرغب في البقاء في تلك الدورة ، لكنني كنت أتسكع مع أشخاص يتعاطون المخدرات ، والذين أصبحوا بلا مأوى ، والذين هم الآن في السجن.

لكن بول ساعدني حقًا في البقاء متحمسًا وقدم لي الموارد التي لم أكن أعرف أنها موجودة هناك ، بالإضافة إلى بعض الدعم النفسي. كان لدي بعض القلق الشديد ، وبعض الإجهاد اللاحق للصدمة ؛ واجهت الكثير من المتاعب في السنة الأولى التي كنت فيها في برنامج JOBS والعام الذي سبقه.

لكن الآن ، كما تعلم ، أنا بخير. شكرًا لهؤلاء الأشخاص ، ولا يمكنني حقًا أن أشكركم بما فيه الكفاية ، لا يمكنني أن أشكركم بما فيه الكفاية ، جينا ، [منسق الوظائف] ، شكرًا لكم ، وشكرًا لكم أيها الرجال. بدون دعمك ، لن يكون هذا ممكنًا. سواء أعطيت 100 دولار ، أو 1000 دولار ، أو أعطت الوقت ، أو تعطي الطاقة ، كما تعلم ، أنا شكراً لكم ، لذا شكراً لكم جميعاً.

شكرا لك يا جوش لمشاركتك قصتك.

اترك تعليق

Your email address will not be published.

Need Help Now?
If you are between the ages of 12-30
and need help, click here.
Donate
Follow Spectrum's updates and resources to learn more about our response to COVID-19.
News

“I didn’t want to stay in that cycle.”

No Comments Share:

DSC_3436


Josh used to be in our JOBS program. He spoke at our recent Reception of Gratitude about his life and experiences, and why your support helped him stay on track to follow his dreams. Here is Josh’s story:

I was about 15 years old when I moved out of my parents’ house. And it took me until I was about 17, in high school, to really actually realize that.

At which point, they had to talk to DCF, and somebody knew Paul Hayes, who was a clinician at the JOBS program, and Paul really helped me do things like find a job and develop life skills so I was able to get an apartment and not become homeless, because I was couch-surfing before that.

I come from a long line of poverty and drugs. My father is currently in prison—not [the prison where I work]—but in prison. My brothers are in prison. So I feel pretty lucky that I met that guy over there.

Since then, I was able to go to college. I got a degree in nursing. Have been pretty successful. I’m married. I have a child on the way and a nine-year-old [applause].

I’m not sure that I would have been able to do it without the JOBS program. I was motivated, I didn’t want to stay in that cycle, but I was hanging out with people who were doing drugs, who did become homeless, who are also now in prison.

But Paul really helped me stay motivated and gave me the resources that I didn’t know were out there, as well as some psychological support. I had some pretty severe anxiety, some post-traumatic stress; I had a lot of trouble for the first year I was in the JOBS program and the year before that.

But now, you know, I’m doing pretty well. Thanks to these guys, and I really can’t thank you enough, I can’t thank you enough, Gina, [JOBS Coordinator], thank you, and thank you guys. Without your support, this wouldn’t be possible. Whether you give $100, you give $1,000, you give time, you give energy, you know, I am thanks to you, so thank you, all of you.

Thank you, Josh, for sharing your story.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *