هل تحتاج إلى مساعدة الآن؟
If you are between the ages of 12-30
and need help, انقر هنا.
تبرع
أخبار

"هذه الأرض هي أرضك": التفكير في نوم تلميذ شيلبورن

لا تعليقات شارك:

شلبورن 3

حقق فيلم Shelburne Student Sleep Out نجاحًا كبيرًا. تنافس فريق "Shelburne Boys" وفريق "Shelburne Girls" لمعرفة من يمكنه جمع أكبر قدر من الأموال ، وفي النهاية ، تنام فتيات شيلبورن! جمع الفريق 2،659 دولارًا ، وجمع الأولاد 2،255 دولارًا ، بإجمالي 4،914 دولارًا لشبابنا وعائلاتنا.

ليس ذلك فحسب ، بل كان البرنامج الذي وضعه من ينامون في شيلبورن تجربة تعليمية مؤثرة لجميع المشاركين! تابع القراءة لتسمع ، على حد تعبير أحد المنظمين ، ما الذي جعل الطلاب ينامون بالخارج مميزًا للغاية ...


بعد أن حضر المدير التنفيذي لشركة Spectrum ، مارك ريدموند ، ومنسقة الأحداث ، كيت روم ، لشكر الأطفال على عملهم الشاق وجهودهم في جمع التبرعات ، كان لدى الأطفال بعض الوقت لإعداد ترتيبات نومهم وصنعوا ملصقات تقول أشياء مثل ، " مساعدة المشردين "،" تبرع لشركة Spectrum "والمزيد.

ثم اجتمع الجميع وشكلوا دائرة. ناقشنا ما سيحدث خلال المساء. جوبلين جيمس ، مدرس في مدرسة Shelburne Community School (SCS) الذي نام أيضًا ، قدم لنا أصول أغنية This Land Is Your Land من تأليف وودي جوثري. تحدث عن تجربة وودي جوثري مع التشرد. ثم عزف على الجيتار بينما غنى الجميع.

ثم ، شابة ساعدتها Spectrum في سرد قصتها. هذا كان له تأثير كبير! كان هناك العديد من الأسئلة حول تجربتها بما في ذلك ، "ماذا تعني الإساءة؟" لقد أعطت إجابة رائعة على هذا السؤال والعديد من الأسئلة الأخرى. قالت إحدى المشاركات هذا الصباح إنها شعرت بالحزن عليها. أعتقد أن الأطفال تعلموا الكثير ، خاصة حول زيادة التعاطف مع المشردين والامتنان لمنزلهم وأولياء أمورهم.

بعد ذلك ، كان هناك ضوء شمعة. حمل الأطفال شموعهم المضاءة وساروا في أنحاء المدينة وملصقاتهم معلقة حول أعناقهم. كان هذا تمييزًا للكثير منهم.

ثم تناولنا العشاء المكون من حساء مصنوع من المكونات التي اشتراها الجميع مسبقًا - طُلب من كل مشارك إنفاق 3.00 دولارات فقط في المتجر للحصول على أحد المكونات قبل الحدث. علق العديد من الطلاب أن 3.00 دولارات لم تذهب بعيدًا. بالإضافة إلى الحساء ، كان هناك خبز وجبن وبعض الصعاب والنهايات الأخرى. كان هناك حوالي 30 دقيقة من وقت الفراغ بعد ذلك.

بعد ذلك اجتمعنا بجوار النار ، وقرأ Vasanthi Meyette ، مدرس الصف الرابع من SCS ، كتاب Fly Away Home مع المجموعة. أدى هذا أيضًا إلى العديد من الأسئلة والمناقشات الجيدة. ثم تحدثت عن تجارب اختيار الطعام لعشاءنا وما الذي علمه هذا الأطفال عما يجب أن يكون عليه العيش على دخل ضئيل للغاية وأن تكون انتقائيًا للغاية. صفقات اثنين مقابل واحد ذات قيمة. تم تشجيع الأطفال أيضًا على قراءة How to Steal a Dog التي يمكن شراؤها من مكتبة Flying Pig.

انطفأت الأنوار في الساعة 9:30 مساءً بعد بعض الوقت لتدوين اليوميات الاختياري. كانت الليلة طويلة جدًا حيث طلب منا الأطفال مرافقتهم إلى الحمام في منتصف الليل وذكروا أنهم كانوا باردين ، مما دفعنا إلى البحث عما كانوا يرتدون - أو لا يرتدون ، كما كان الحال غالبًا - ومساعدتنا تصبح أكثر دفئا.

استيقظ بعض الأطفال في حوالي الساعة 5 صباحًا أو نحو ذلك بعد انخفاض درجة الحرارة إلى منتصف سن المراهقة وتمكنوا من الإحماء لفترة داخل قاعة المدينة التي تُركت مفتوحة لنا طوال الليل لاستخدام الحمام و / أو النوم في صالة الألعاب الرياضية إذا كان كان البرد غامرًا جدًا. لا أعتقد أن أي شخص يستخدم الصالة الرياضية ، لكن كان من الرائع معرفة أنها موجودة إذا احتجنا إليها.

في الصباح ، أشعلنا حريقًا آخر في حفرة النار ، وقدم للأطفال دقيق الشوفان والشوكولاتة الساخنة. جاء قائد شرطة شلبورن للحديث ولإجابة أسئلة حول التشرد في شيلبورن. علمنا أنه في أي ليلة يوجد حوالي 20 شخصًا بلا مأوى ينامون عمومًا في خيام في الغابة حيث لن يتم اكتشافهم بسهولة. وذكر أننا كنا محظوظين أن الجو كان "دافئًا" الليلة الماضية نظرًا لمدى انخفاض درجات الحرارة خلال الشتاء. يا لها من طريقة لإعادة تأطير الأشياء! مرة أخرى ، كان الأطفال فضوليين وطرحوا العديد من الأسئلة.

حان الوقت لحزم أمتعتهم وجاء الآباء. ذكر كل طفل تحدثت معه أنها كانت ليلة صعبة ، لكنني أردت أن أفعل ذلك مرة أخرى العام المقبل! كان الأطفال جنودًا حقيقيين مع القليل جدًا من الشكوى وكانوا متحفظين ومحترمين نظرًا لما كان الحدث حوله. شعرت بإحساس حقيقي بالإنجاز. تستحق Kelly Story و Jenney Samuelson المديح لمهاراتهما التنظيمية الرائعة والطاقة والعاطفة التي بذلت في التخطيط لهذه التجربة المذهلة. وشكرًا كبيرًا لشركة Spectrum لمنح أطفال فيرمونت هذه الفرصة الرائعة للتعرف على التشرد والمساهمة في مجتمعهم بطريقة هادفة وللقيام بالعمل الذي تقوم به!

عدنا للعام القادم!

اترك تعليق

Your email address will not be published.

Need Help Now?
If you are between the ages of 12-30
and need help, click here.
Donate
News

“This Land Is Your Land”: Reflecting on the Shelburne Student Sleep Out

No Comments Share:

Shelburne 3

The Shelburne Student Sleep Out was a huge success. The “Shelburne Boys” team and the “Shelburne Girls” team dueled to see who could raise the most funds, and in the end, the Shelburne Girls Sleep Out! team raised $2,659, and the boys raised $2,255, totaling $4,914 for our youth and families.

Not only that, but the program the Shelburne sleepers put together was a moving learning experience for all involved! Read on to hear, in the words of one of the organizers, what made their Student Sleep Out so special…


After Spectrum’s Executive Director, Mark Redmond, and Events Coordinator, Kate Romm, came by to thank the kids for their hard work and fundraising efforts, the kids had some time to get their sleeping arrangements set up and made posters that said things like, “help the homeless,” “donate to Spectrum,” and more.

Everyone then gathered and formed a circle. We discussed what would happen during the evening. Joplin James, a teacher at Shelburne Community School (SCS) who also slept out, introduced us to the origins of the song This Land Is Your Land by Woody Guthrie. He spoke about Woody Guthrie’s experience with homelessness. He then played the guitar while everyone sang.

Then, a young woman who Spectrum had helped told her story. That made a huge impact! There were many questions about her experience including, “What does abuse mean?” She gave a great answer to that question and many others. One participant said this morning that she felt sad for her. I think the kids learned a ton, especially about increased empathy toward the homeless and gratitude for their own home and parents.

After that, there was a candle lighting. The kids held their lit candles and walked through town with their posters hanging around their necks. That was a highlight for many of them.

We then had dinner consisting of a soup made from the ingredients that everyone had purchased ahead of time—each participant was told to spend just $3.00 at the store for an ingredient prior to the event. Many students commented that $3.00 did not go very far. In addition to the soup, there was bread, cheese, and some other odds and ends. There was about 30 minutes of free time after that.

We then gathered by the fire, and Vasanthi Meyette, a 4th grade teacher from SCS, read the book Fly Away Home with the group. This also generated many questions and good discussions. She then spoke about food selection experiences for our dinner and what this taught the kids about what it must be like to live on very little income and to have to be very selective. Two-for-one deals are valuable. The kids were also encouraged to read How to Steal a Dog that could be purchased at the Flying Pig bookstore.

Lights out was at 9:30 PM after some time for optional journaling. The night was very long with kids asking for us to escort them to the bathroom in the middle of night and stating that they were cold, which prompted us to research what they were wearing—or not wearing, as was often the case—and helping them get warmer.

Some kids woke around 5 AM or so after the temperature had dipped down to the mid-teens and were able to warm up for awhile inside Town Hall which was left unlocked for us overnight to use the bathroom and/or sleep in the gym if the cold was too overwhelming. I don’t think anyone used the gym, but it was great to know it was there if we needed it.

In the morning, we built another fire in the fire pit, and the kids were served oatmeal and hot chocolate. The Shelburne police chief came to talk and field questions about homelessness in Shelburne. We learned that on any given night there are about 20 homeless people that generally sleep out in tents in the woods where they will not be easily discovered. He mentioned that we were fortunate it was so “warm” last night given how low the temperatures have gotten through the winter. What a way to re-frame things! Again, kids were curious and asked many questions.

It was then time to pack up and parents came. Every child I spoke with mentioned that it was a hard night but wanted to do this again next year! The kids were real troopers with very little complaining and were reserved and respectful given what the event was about. The felt a real sense of accomplishment. Kelly Story and Jenney Samuelson deserve kudos for their brilliant organizational skills and the energy and passion that went into planning this incredible experience. And huge thanks to Spectrum for giving Vermont kids this wonderful opportunity to learn about homelessness and to contribute to their community in a meaningful way and for doing the work you do!

Count us in for next year!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.