هل تحتاج إلى مساعدة الآن؟
If you are between the ages of 12-30
and need help, انقر هنا.
تبرع
أخبار

من فريق العمل لدينا: إنشاء BTV Street Chronicle

لا تعليقات شارك:


ليز وجاس هما موظفو AmeriCorps الذين يعملون في مركز Drop-In التابع لنا ، الواقع في 177 Pearl Street في Burlington. إنهم أيضًا القوى الدافعة وراء BTV Street Chronicle الجديد ، وهو زين منشور ذاتيًا يعرض قصصًا وقصائد وبيانات وفنًا وكلمات مجهولة من الشباب الذي تخدمه Spectrum.

استغرقنا بعض الوقت للجلوس مع ليز وجاس لسماع المزيد عن المشروع.

تهدف وقائع الشارع ، المتوفرة عبر الإنترنت ، في مكاتبنا وحول وسط مدينة بيرلينجتون ، إلى تمكين الشباب المشردين من مشاركة قصصهم مع سكان برلنغتون الآخرين الذين تختلف حياتهم اختلافًا جذريًا.


قال جاس: "بدأنا الحديث عن ذلك عندما كنا في مونبلييه [لتدريب أميريكور]". "كنت أعرف عن صحيفة Cleveland Street Chronicle في ولاية أوهايو ؛ يمكنك شرائه خارج الأسواق المفتوحة. إنها مكتفية ذاتيًا تمامًا ".

في ولاية أوهايو ، يشتري الباعة المشردون الأوراق مقابل 35 سنتًا ويبيعونها مقابل 1.25 دولار. يحتفظ البائعون بأرباحهم ، ويبدأ السجل في العمل على الإصدار التالي.
شارك ليز وجاس في سببين رئيسيين لإنشاء السجل هنا في بيرلينجتون. أولاً ، أرادوا تشجيع الشباب المشردين والمعرضين للخطر على مشاركة قصصهم. تقول ليز ، "سيأتي شخص ما [إلى مركز الاستقبال] وسيتحدثون معي عن يومهم وبعد ذلك سأعرض ،" يبدو أن ما تمر به صعب حقًا في الوقت الحالي. تريد أن تكتب عنها؟ أعرف أن الشرارة الإبداعية موجودة ، ولكن كيف نصل إليها؟ " طريقة واحدة هي وقائع الشارع.

يتضمن السجل أصوات الشباب في ملجأنا ومساكننا وخارجها. إنه يساعد الشباب الذين يحتاجون إلى المساعدة وكذلك أعضاء المجتمع على التعرف على ما تقدمه Spectrum ، ولكنه أيضًا يضخم أصوات الشباب الذين يعيشون في الخارج.

لذلك هناك السبب الثاني: لمساعدة سكان بيرلينجتون على سماع أصوات هؤلاء الشباب في مجتمعهم. كما قال جاس وليز ، "نريد تحدي المجتمع ليواجه التجارب المعيشية للشباب المشردين الذين يعيشون في بلدتنا". حتى لو كان الأمر غير مريح. "ترى أطفالًا يجلسون في شارع تشيرش ، لكن في نهاية اليوم ، يتجهون إلى خيمتهم. إن تشرد الشباب منتشر وواضح إذا كنت لا تتجاهله ".

إذن ، إلى أين يتجه هذا؟ الآن ، ليز وجاس يضعان طبعة واحدة من زين كل شهرين. بعد ذلك ، فإنهم يرغبون في رؤيتها تستمر بشكل مستقل - مثل Cleveland Street Chronicle - دون توجيههم. قال ليز وجاس إنه إذا اتخذ الشباب BTV Street Chronicle كمشروعهم الخاص ، فسيكون الوصول إليه أكثر وضوحا.

ليز وجاس ، موظفو AmeriCorps في Spectrum

كما طرحوا إمكانيات التعاون مع مجالات مختلفة من الطيف ، بما في ذلك مشروع الشباب متعدد الثقافات ومجموعة الشباب التابعة لصخور التنوع! لقد تحدثوا عن إحضار السجل إلى مركز المراهقين Winooski لجمع الأصوات من تلك المدينة أيضًا. كلما كان متوفرا ، يمكن أن يحدث المزيد من التعلم.

هذه ليست مهمة سهلة. يشارك جاس أحد التحديات التي يشعرون بها في إنتاج زين: "أكره أن يشعر الأشخاص الذين يصلون إلى خدمة التوصيل الفوري وكأنهم قصة نجاح أو قصة حزينة." في الوقت نفسه ، يُظهر هذا الزين كيف تبدو الحياة بالنسبة للشباب الذين نخدمهم ، وكيف تعمل ليز وجاس - وجميع موظفي Spectrum - على تمكينهم من تغيير حياتهم.

تقول ليز: "كل شخص يحتاج إلى منفذ". "الأطفال الذين اعتادوا الضحك في وجهي على الزين يرسمون تجاربهم أو يكتبونها. يعاني الكثير من الأطفال الذين نخدمهم من أزمة على أساس يومي. هناك أشخاص تمكنوا من الوصول إلى Spectrum لسنوات ، والذين ظلوا بلا مأوى منذ سنوات. لكن عندما تضع الأدوات - القلم والورقة - أمام شخص ما ، اسأل ، "ما الذي يحدث لك؟ هل كان يومك جيدا؟ يوم سيء؟' يمكن أن يغير الأشياء ".

اقرأ "وقائع الشارع" هنا: المجلد 1 | حجم 2

اترك تعليق

Your email address will not be published.

Need Help Now?
If you are between the ages of 12-30
and need help, click here.
Donate
News

From our Drop-In Staff: Creating the BTV Street Chronicle

No Comments Share:


Liz and Jas are the AmeriCorps staff who work in our Drop-In Center, located on 177 Pearl Street in Burlington. They’re also the driving forces behind the new BTV Street Chronicle, a self-published zine that features anonymous stories, poems, statements, art, and words from the youth that Spectrum serves.

We took some time to sit down with Liz and Jas to hear more about the project.

The street chronicle, available online, at our offices, and around downtown Burlington, is meant to empower homeless youth to share their stories with other Burlington residents whose lives are drastically different.


“We started talking about it while we were in Montpelier [for an AmeriCorps training],” Jas said. “I knew about the Cleveland Street Chronicle in Ohio; you can buy it outside the open-air markets. It’s entirely self-sustaining.”

In Ohio, homeless vendors purchase the papers for 35 cents and sell them for $1.25. The vendors keep their profits, and the chronicle begins work on its next issue.
Liz and Jas shared two main reasons for creating the chronicle here in Burlington. First, they wanted to encourage homeless and at-risk youth to share their stories. Liz says, “someone will come in [to the Drop-In Center] and they’ll be talking with me about their day and then I’ll offer, ‘it sounds like what you’re going through is really tough right now. Want to write about it?’ I know the creative spark is there, but how do we reach it?” One way is the street chronicle.

The chronicle includes the voices of youth in our shelter and residences and out. It helps youth who need help as well as community members to learn about what Spectrum offers, but it also amplifies the voices of youth who live outside.

So there’s the second reason: to help Burlington residents hear the voices of these young people in their community. As Jas and Liz put it, “we want to challenge the community to be confronted with the lived experiences of homeless youth living in our town.” Even if it’s uncomfortable. “You see kids sitting out on Church Street, but at the end of the day, they’re headed to their tent. Youth homelessness is pervasive and visible if you aren’t ignoring it.”

So, where is this headed? Right now, Liz and Jas put out one edition of the zine every two months. Next up, they’d love to see it continue independently—like the Cleveland Street Chronicle—without their guidance. If youth took on the BTV Street Chronicle as their own project, Liz and Jas said, it would be even more accessible and meaningful.

Liz and Jas, Spectrum’s AmeriCorps staff members

They also brought up possibilities of collaborating with different areas of Spectrum, including the Multicultural Youth Project and the affiliated youth group Diversity Rocks! They’ve talked about bringing the chronicle to the Winooski Teen Center to gather voices from that city, too. The more available it is, the more learning can take place.

This isn’t an easy task. Jas shares one of the challenges they feel in producing the zine: “I would hate for folks who access Drop-In to feel like a success story or a sad story.” At the same time, this zine shows what life is like for the youth we serve, and how Liz and Jas—and all Spectrum staff—work to empower them to change their lives.

“Everyone needs an outlet,” Liz says. “Kids who used to laugh in my face about the zine are drawing their experiences, or writing them down. A lot of the kids we serve are in crisis on a day-to-day basis. There are people who’ve accessed Spectrum for years, who’ve been homeless for years. But when you put the tools—pen and paper—in front of someone, ask, ‘what’s going on for you? Did you have a good day? A bad day?’ That can change things.”

Read the Street Chronicle here:   Volume 1   |   Volume 2

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.