هل تحتاج إلى مساعدة الآن؟
If you are between the ages of 12-30
and need help, انقر هنا.
تبرع
أخبار

ضيف مدونة بوست: النوم في الخارج لشباب VT

لا تعليقات شارك:

GE7A9821


إن أصدقائنا في PC Construction هم الرعاة الأولون لـ Spectrum Sleep Out . بعد جمع طاقم مكون من عشرين شخصًا للنوم ، كانوا أيضًا أفضل فريق لجمع التبرعات لهذا الحدث! وقد استمتعوا كثيرًا لدرجة أن مدير مشروع الكمبيوتر الشخصي جيم بوي شاركنا تجربته.

فيما يلي منشور ضيف كتبه Jim Bowie في 27 مارس 2015 ، وأعيد نشره هنا بعد الحصول على إذن.


لقد تعرفت على Spectrum Youth and Family Services خلال فترة عملي مع Leadership Champlain في العام الماضي ، وقد تأثرت كثيرًا بما تفعله Spectrum ، بل وفوجئت أكثر بمعرفة عدد الشباب الذين يساعدونهم كل يوم من أيام السنة. عندما علمت أن PC Construction كانت تجمع فريقًا للمشاركة في Sleep Out السنوي لـ Spectrum ، كان علي المشاركة.

اجتمعنا جميعًا في الساعة 9:00 الليلة الماضية مع تساقط أمطار خفيفة ولكن ثابتة وكان الجو بين أكثر من 100 مشارك إيجابيًا للغاية. شارك مارك ريدموند من Spectrum قصة عن امرأة شابة تمكنت من تغيير حياتها بمساعدة الخدمات التي تقدمها Spectrum. عندما اتصلت واحتاجت إلى مشورة ، علم أنها كانت تعاني من الكثير من مشاكل السيارات التي كانت تسبب لها مشاكل في ذهابها إلى المدرسة والعمل. لم تكن تطلب المساعدة المالية ، بل كانت تبحث بدلاً من ذلك عن إرشادات لتجاوز الأوقات الصعبة. تمكنت Spectrum من دفع تكاليف إصلاح سيارتها مما ساعدها على البقاء على مسار إيجابي من خلال تعليمها وعملها.

تذهب الأموال التي يتم جمعها خلال Sleep Out مباشرة لمساعدة الآخرين مثلها. لقد كانت قصة مؤثرة للغاية ومثال واحد فقط على كيفية مساعدة Spectrum للشباب على تحقيق أهدافهم.

بعد الحديث الحماسي ، أقمنا جميعًا أماكننا تحت الخيمة ، وبعد قليل من التواصل الاجتماعي الجيد ، تجولنا طوال الليل. تمكنت من الحصول على قسط من النوم على الرغم من حركة المرور الصاخبة خلال الليل والأضواء على طول شارع تشيرش مما جعل المنطقة مضاءة. أدى ذلك ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع الأرض المبللة ، والمطر ، والدرجات المؤقتة في العشرينات من القرن الماضي ، إلى عودة الظروف التي يتعرض لها العديد من شبابنا المشردين على مدار العام.

لقد كانت تجربة رائعة ونجاح باهر. أنا فخور بفريق PC Construction لدعمه الجهود وجمع أكثر من 26000 دولار من أجل هذه القضية - وأنا أعلم أنني سأكون جزءًا من الجهد مرة أخرى العام المقبل.

للتسجيل أو معرفة المزيد ، انقر هنا .

مشاركة مدونة الكمبيوتر 2

مشاركة مدونة الكمبيوتر 3

مشاركة مدونة الكمبيوتر 4

اترك تعليق

Your email address will not be published.

Need Help Now?
If you are between the ages of 12-30
and need help, click here.
Donate
News

Guest Blog Post: Sleeping Out for VT’s Youth

No Comments Share:

GE7A9821


Our friends at PC Construction are the Premiere Sponsors of the Spectrum Sleep Out. After putting together a crew of twenty to sleep out, they were also the top fundraising team for the event! And, they had so much fun that PC Project Manager Jim Bowie shared his experience with us.

The following is a guest post written on March 27th, 2015, by Jim Bowie, republished here with permission.


I learned about Spectrum Youth and Family Services during my stint with Leadership Champlain last year and was extremely impressed with what Spectrum does and even more surprised to learn how many young people they help each day of the year. When I learned that PC Construction was pulling together a team to participate in Spectrum’s annual Sleep Out, I had to get involved.

We all gathered together at 9:00 last night with a light but steady rain falling and the atmosphere among the over 100 participants was very positive. Spectrum’s Mark Redmond shared a story about young woman who was able to turn her life around with help from services provided by Spectrum. When she called and needed advice, he learned that she was struggling with a lot of car troubles that were causing issues with her getting to school and work. She wasn’t asking for financial assistance, but instead was looking for guidance to get through the tough times. Spectrum was able to pay for her car repairs which helped her stay on a positive path with her education and job.

The funds raised during the Sleep Out go directly to helping others just like her. It was a very touching story and only one example of how Spectrum helps youth achieve their goals.

After the pep talk, we all set up our spots under the tent and, after a bit of good socializing, we hunkered down for the night. I managed to get some sleep despite the noisy traffic through the night and lights along Church Street keeping the area lit. That, combined with the soggy ground, rain, and temps in the 20s, drove home the conditions so many of our homeless youth are exposed to year-round.

It was a great experience and a huge success. I’m proud of the PC Construction team for supporting the effort and raising over $26,000 for the cause – and I know I will be part of the effort again next year.

To sign up or learn more, click here.

PC Blog Post 2

PC Blog Post 3

PC Blog Post 4

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.