هل تحتاج إلى مساعدة الآن؟
If you are between the ages of 12-30
and need help, انقر هنا.
تبرع
أخبار

العار الناجم عن إدمان المخدرات ثقافيا

2 تعليقات شارك:

ميليسا دياس


ميليسا دياس من سكان بريستول وتعمل في مقاطعة أديسون لخدمات الطيف للشباب والأسرة لتعليم الأشخاص الموجودين في الإجازة والذين لديهم خلفيات إجرامية وتعاطي مواد مخدرة. فيما يلي مقال كتبته ميليسا وظهر في قسم "المنتدى المجتمعي" في أديسون إندبندنت في 26 مارس 2015.


يمكن أن تكون زيارة دولة أخرى حدثًا توعويًا يمكن للمرء أن يعيده إلى وطنه. أثناء قراءة Bangor News في ولاية ماين ، وجدت نفسي معجبًا جدًا بنعي كتبته عائلة لرجل يبلغ من العمر 27 عامًا ، ريان بوسي ، الذي توفي من جرعة زائدة من المخدرات.

وجاء في النعي ، "بعد خسارة معركة حامية الوطيس مع الإدمان." كم مرة قرأنا في نعي الآخرين "بعد خسارة معركة صعبة مع مرض معين أو نوع من السرطان"؟ المغزى من كلا البيانين هو أنهم حاربوا ما كان يقتلهم. أرادوا العيش.

يفترض الكثير من الناس أن مدمن المخدرات لديه خيار. قلة من الناس يفهمون إلى أي مدى يمكن أن يكون استخدام المخدرات موهنًا للغاية. إنها تغير حرفيا كيمياء دماغك. لم يعد المرء يفكر في الطريقة التي يتمتع بها المستخدم غير المتعاطي بالمخدرات بامتياز التفكير. يبحث مدمن الهيروين عن علاجه التالي مثل شخص لم يأكل منذ وقت طويل جدًا يبحث عن الطعام. المدمن ببساطة لا يريد أن يشعر بالسوء الشديد. هل بدأت من أجل إثارة النشوة؟ نعم طبعا. ومع ذلك ، سرعان ما يتحول إلى مرض ، مثل تدخين السجائر وانتفاخ الرئة أو سرطان الرئة.

من العوائق الرئيسية لقهر إدمان المخدرات أنها مرتبطة ارتباطًا وثيقًا بالعار. العار هو عاطفة تقوض بشكل مطرد طلب المساعدة. إذا طلب المدمن المساعدة ، وحصل عليها ثم فشل في البقاء نظيفًا ، فإن العار يتعمق.

نحن كثقافة نلحق العار بإدمان المخدرات. نحن نشل حركة السكان المتزايدة باستمرار من الناس الذين يقعون في "القتال الدائر حول الصرف الصحي (الموت)" للحصول على المساعدة لإدمانهم عن طريق إغراقهم بالعار. نؤكد لهم أنهم ضعفاء وغير مجديين لمجتمعنا. إنه يشبه إلى حد ما النبذ من المجتمع لأن لديك ذراع مفقودة أو لأنك مصاب بالسرطان أو لمعتقد ديني يختلف عما هو معتاد.

هل هناك سرقة مصاحبة لهذا المرض؟ نعم طبعا. أنت تتحدث عن أناس يائسين. في هذه المرحلة ، السرقة هي للمساعدة في مكافحة التعرق والقيء والمرض الذي يصاحب إدمان المخدرات. الجريمة تحدث!

صرح أندرو بوسي ، شقيق رايان الأكبر ، "لا أعتقد أننا يجب أن نخجل من هذا". لم يستطع أندرو أن يتكلم بصدق. أعتقد أنه بمجرد إزالة عامل العار ، فإن إخواننا وأخواتنا وأبنائنا وبناتنا وأمهاتنا وآباءنا وأعمامنا وخالاتنا لديهم فرصة أفضل للنجاح ، لأنهم يعرفون أن مجتمعهم يحبهم رغم أنهم مدمنون على مثل هذه الحياة بلا رحمة. - مادة مهددة ومدمرة. كيف سيكون الأمر بالنسبة لشخص يعاني من إدمان مخدرات حتى يتمكن من التحدث عن إدمانه لأي شخص في أي وقت دون إصدار حكم؟ كيف سيؤثر ذلك ويدعم قدرتهم على التعافي؟ كيف يؤثر ذلك على استعداد المدمن للتعافي؟ فيما يلي أسئلة يجب علينا جميعًا التفكير فيها. دعونا على الأقل نفكر في هذا ونقرر من نريد أن نكون كمجتمع متجاوب.

- ميليسا دياس
تدخل عالي المخاطر
خدمات الطيف للشباب والأسرة

تعليقات

2 تعليقات على هذا المنصب. أضف التعليقات الخاصة بك أدناه.

اترك تعليق

Your email address will not be published.

Need Help Now?
If you are between the ages of 12-30
and need help, click here.
Donate
News

The Culturally Induced Shame of Drug Addiction

2 Comments Share:

Melissa Deas


Melissa Deas is a Bristol resident who works in Addison County for Spectrum Youth and Family Services teaching classes to people on furlough who have criminal and substance abuse backgrounds. The following is an article that Melissa wrote that appeared in the “Community Forum” section of The Addison Independent on March 26, 2015.


Visiting another state can be an awareness event that one can bring home to one’s own state. While reading the Bangor News in Maine, I found myself very impressed with an obituary a family wrote for a 27 year old man, Ryan Bossie, who died from a drug overdose.

The obituary read, “after losing a hard-fought battle with addiction.”  How many times have we read in other people’s obituaries, “after losing a hard fought battle with a particular disease or a kind of cancer”?  The point of both statements is that they fought what was killing them.  They wanted to live.

So many people assume that a drug addict has a choice.  Few people understand how deeply debilitating the use of drugs can be.  It literally changes your brain chemistry.  One no longer thinks in the way a non-drug user is privileged to think.  A heroin addict searches for her/his next fix like someone who has not eaten in a very long time searches for food.  An addict simply wants to not feel so very bad.  Did it start off for the thrill of a high?  Yes, of course.  However, it quickly becomes a disease, like cigarette smoking becomes emphysema or lung cancer.

A major barrier to conquering drug addictions is that they are so tenaciously connected with shame.  Shame is an emotion that steadily undermines the seeking of help.  If an addict seeks help, gets it and then fails to stay clean, the shame deepens.

We as a culture attach shame to drug addiction.  We cripple the ever-increasing population of people who get caught in the “circling the drain (death) fight” to get help for their addiction by inundating them with shame.  We assure them that they are weak and useless to our society.  It’s a bit like being ostracized by the community because you have a missing arm or because you have cancer or a religious belief differing from what’s the norm.

Is there theft that goes along with this disease?  Yes, of course.  You are talking about desperate people.  At this point, the theft is to help fight the sweating and vomiting and sickness that comes with being a drug addict.  Crime happens!

Ryan’s older brother, Andrew Bossie stated, “I don’t think we should be ashamed of this.”  Andrew could not speak truer words.  I believe that once we remove the shame factor, our brothers, sisters, sons, daughters, mothers, fathers, uncles and aunts have a better chance of succeeding, because they know their society loves them even though they are unmercifully addicted to such a life-threatening and destructive substance.  What would it be like for someone who has a drug addiction to be able to talk about their addiction to anyone anytime without judgment?  How would that affect and support their ability to recover? How would that affect the readiness of an addict to recover?  Here are questions for all of us to ponder.  Let’s at the very least think about this and decide who we want to be as a responsive community.

—Melissa Deas
High Risk Interventionist
Spectrum Youth & Family Services

Comments

2 comments on this post. Add your own comments below.
  1. Thank you, a wonderful piece to the puzzle of ostracization. I will be sharing this link.

    • Spectrum Staff said

      Thank you for sharing, Tina!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *